This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.
    Login    Register    Customer service    +44 (0)141 427 2977

    Ledaig Single Malt Whisky

    Ledaig whisky is produced at Tobermory, the only distillery on the picturesque Isle of Mull. The Ledaig branding is used for the lightly peated whiskies from the distillery while the unpeated whiskies are released with the Tobermory branding. The distillery may now be home to two popular single malt whiskies, but it has experienced plenty of difficulties in its lifetime.

    The distillery was originally founded in 1798 by John Sinclair, a local kelp merchant, under the name Ledaig (pronounced Led-chigg). It closed in 1837 as a result of prohibition and had multiple false starts and ownership changes thereafter. The distillery was closed in 1930 and the buildings were used as a power station for several decades. In 1972 the distillery was purchased by Domecq sherry and a shipping company from Liverpool but this was short lived – only producing until 1975 when the company filed for bankruptcy. The distillery went in and out of production several times before being purchased by Burn Stewart Distillers in 1993 and finding consistency with the name Tobermory.

    The fact that the distillery is named Tobermory and it releases two different brand names of whisky is often the source of some confusion. The lightly peated Ledaig malt releases now make up part of the distillery’s core range, with the most popular options being the 10 and 16 year old expressions. These are notably smokier than their unpeated Tobermory branded counterparts.

    Shop by:
    Shop By

    Shopping Options