This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.
    Login    Register    Customer service    +44 (0)141 427 2977

    Speyburn Single Malt Whisky

    Speyburn distillery was opened in 1897, the diamond jubilee year of Queen Victoria. The distillery was built and operated by John Hopkins & Co. who also owned the Tobermory distillery on the Isle of Mull. The distillery was then acquired by DCL in 1916, but went through a period of uncertainty as a result of inconsistent production during war times. Full production re-commenced after World War II and has been consistent since then, through several different owners. Scottish Malt Distillers (SMD) assumed ownership of Speyburn in 1962 and current owners Inver House Distillers took over in 1991.

    Speyburn is quite unusual in that there have been very few upgrades made to the distillery since it was originally constructed. Much of the equipment being used to produce spirit now is the same as when it first opened.

    A majority of the spirit produced at the distillery is used for blends, but a small percentage is retained for maturing and bottling as single malt whisky. Speyburn whisky has a fairly low brand profile in the UK, but it is one of the most popular single malts on the market in the United States. The single malt whisky from Speyburn is often noted for it's gentle taste, which is attributed to the particularly soft water sourced from the Granty Burn, which runs into the River Spey.

    Shop by:
    Shop By

    Shopping Options