Over the past few months, we've conducted blind tastings of the submitted whiskies, with W Club members at our stores up and down the country. Free of biases of branding, style of whisky, country of origin, specific age, maturation style or price, the judging process was truly honest.

The criteria was as follows:

  1. Nose/Aroma (25 points)
  2. Mouthfeel & Taste (25 points)
  3. Finish (20 points)
  4. Overall impression (30 points)

We've compiled scores from each member to get our final results, and have our winners for each category below!

Overall Winners

Loch Lomond 14 Year Old, Whisky of the Year 2023

Crafted using straight neck stills, this expression is aged in three varieties of American oak casks before a year-long finish in toasted French Limousin oak casks, resulting in a fruit-driven palate, with spiced apple, vanilla fudge, and gentle smoke.

The Lake's The Whiskymaker's Reserve No.6, Overall Gold Medallist

Matured in the finest Oloroso, PX, and red wine casks, this complex and aromatic non-age statement expression from The Lake’s Distillery boasts notes of dates, teacake, rose water and oriental spice.

Old Pulteney 15 Year Old, Overall Gold Medallist

Initially matured in American oak bourbon casks, before a special finish in Spanish oak, this beautifully balanced 15 Year Old combines sweetness and spice with Old Pulteney’s signature refreshing coastal notes.

Balblair 15 Year Old, Overall Gold Medallist

Aged in American oak bourbon casks, before a finish in first fill Spanish oak butts, this round and velvety 15 Year Old is bursting with notes of dark chocolate, tropical fruits and mixed spices. A triumph from the Highland distillery.

Single Malt 12 Years and Under

Winner: The Lakes Whiskymaker's Reserve

Also an overall Gold Medallist, this sherried English dram is distilled and matured in the Cumbrian beauty spot of the Lake District.

Gold Medallists

Single Malt Over 12 Year Old

Winner: Loch Lomond 14 Year Old

Our Whisky of the Year 2023 also tops the charts of its respective category. Up against much older drams, this dram held its own to become the best in show, with its flavours of spiced apple, vanilla fudge and subtle smoke.

Gold Medallists

Blended Malt Whisky

Winner: Highland Journey Series Blended Malt

A part of Hunter Laing & Co.'s Journey series, this blended malt is inspired by the beautiful landscapes of the Highlands of Scotland. The palate is velvety smooth, with summery flavours peaches and pears.

Gold Medallists

Blended Whisky

Winner: The One Fine Blended Whisky

A second win for The Lakes', this blend comprises their own English single malt whisky and both grain and malt whiskies from Scotland. The palate is one of festive spices, toasted oak, and dried fruit.

Gold Medallists

Alternative Mash Bill Whisky

Winner: Stauning Kaos

A blend of Stauning Danish whisky’s three signature malts, matured in heavily charred Virgin American Oak barrels and first-fill, Makers Mark casks. Notes of chocolate, oak, red apple and bonfire.

Gold Medallists

Congratulations to all the winners!